Photo: Alex Seftel

NAL announces 2024 structure and fixtures

The National Athletics League has announced a change of structure for the 2024 season, along with details of fixture dates.

There will be 32 clubs in the NAL this season, split across two levels.

At the top of the NAL, the Premiership Division will involve 8 clubs.

The second level is the Championship Division involving 24 clubs, split into North, South, West and East groups which each contain 6 teams.

Saturday 1st June will therefore see five fixtures opening up the season across the Premiership in Eton, Championship North in Nottingham, Championship South in Portsmouth, Championship East in Chelmsford and Championship West in Swansea.

Birmingham will be the host venue for what will be an exciting third and final Premiership match of the season on 3rd August.

At the same time, Championship teams will take part in their fourth match of the season in Bedford.

This competition will be split into two, with the top two teams from the North, South, East and West regional groups all taking part in a Promotion Match.

From this match involving a total of 8 clubs, the top two teams will be promoted to the Premiership for the 2025 season.

On the same day, the clubs who have placed third to sixth in those same four Championship regional groups will take part in the Cup Final, which will feature A String events only.

There will also be a NAL team at this season’s Loughborough International.

Premiership teams for 2024:

Birchfield Harriers, Blackheath & Bromley AC, Glasgow Jaguars, Harrow AC, Sale Harriers Manchester, Thames Valley Harriers, Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow, Woodford Green with Essex Ladies

Championship North:

Bedford & County AC, City of Liverpool, City of Sheffield & Dearne, Marshall Milton Keynes, Notts AC, Trafford AC

Championship South:

Belgrave Harriers, Bournemouth AC, City of Portsmouth AC, Crawley AC, Kingston AC & Poly, Tonbridge AC

Championship East:

Chelmsford AC, Havering AC, Herne Hill Harriers, Herts Phoenix, Newham & Essex Beagles, Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers

Championship West:

Basingstoke & Mid Hants AC, Cardiff AAC, Southampton AC, Swansea Harriers, Yate & District AC, Yeovil Olympiads

Fixture dates:

Match 1 – Saturday 1st June – Eton (Premiership), Nottingham (Championship North), Portsmouth (Championship South), Chelmsford (Championship East), Swansea (Championship West)

Match 2 – Saturday 22nd June – Championship only – Leigh (Championship North), Crawley (Championship South), StoneX (Championship East), Yate (Championship West)

Match 3 – Sunday 7th July – Woodford (Premiership), Bedford (Championship North), Kingston (Championship South), Stevenage (Championship East), Basingstoke (Championship West)

Match 4 – Saturday 3rd August – Birmingham (Premiership), Bedford (Championship Promotion Match and Cup Final)

For further details see the Fixtures section, which can be permanently found under the Competition tab on our website.