BAL Archive

The National Athletics League was formed in 1969. The idea of forming a National League for athletics was set in motion by a fact- finding trip to Poland in 1966 by Tom McNab and Tony Ward. Following a pilot league season in 1968, 18 clubs were organised into three divisions of six clubs in 1969, the inaugural season.

The League was renamed the British Athletics League (BAL) in 1973. By 2018, the BAL had grown to 38 Athletics clubs and five divisions, with eight clubs in the Premiership Division and in each of the Divisions One to Three with Division Four consisting of six clubs. 82 clubs have been members of the BAL since 1969.

The first League fixtures

The original member clubs which participated in the League were Achilles, Belgrave Harriers, Blackheath Harriers, Birchfield Harriers, Brighton & Hove AC, Bristol AC, Cardiff AAC, Croydon Harriers, Edinburgh Southern Harriers, Hillingdon AC, London AC, Notts AC, Polytechnic Harriers, Sale Harriers, Southampton AC, Surrey AC, Thames Valley Harriers and Woodford Green AC.

C Perry of Birchfield (1), B Hayward of Cardiff (7), W Mullett of Brighton (5, event winner) and D Fowles of Cardiff (8) compete in the NAL Twickenham in 1969
Clive Williams of Cardiff AAC recalls the first fixture at Twickenham in 1969. Click here to read more.

International greats

Between 1969 and 2019, many international track and field champions and medallists competed in BAL fixtures. This includes everyone from Daley Thompson and Steve Backley to Sebastian Coe and Adam Gemili.

Sebastian Coe competes for Haringey at a British Athletics League meeting in Birmingham in 1986. Photo: Blackheath and Bromley Harriers AC

“Over the years, the British Athletics League has played a crucial role as an incubator for young talent. The competition has been of constant high standard and I remember fondly my own competitions as a member of the Haringey team.”

– Sebastian Coe, President of World Athletics and two-time Olympic champion

The League in 2019

2019 member clubs were: Basingstoke & Mid Hants AC, Bedford & County AC, Blackheath Harriers & Bromley AC, Birchfield Harriers, Bournemouth AC, Bristol & West AC, Cardiff AAC, Chelmsford AC, City of Sheffield and Dearne AC, Crawley Ac, Croydon Harriers, Enfield & Haringey AC, Glasgow City AC, Harrow Ac, Havering Ac, Herne Hill Harriers, Herts Phoenix AC, Kingston & Polytechnic Harriers, Liverpool Harriers, Notts AC, Nene Valley Harriers, Newham & Essex Beagles, Portsmouth AC, Reading AC, Rugby & Northampton AC, Sale Harriers, Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers, Southampton AC, Southend AC, Swansea Harriers, Thames Valley Harriers, Tonbridge AC, Trafford AC, Windsor, Slough Eton & Hounslow AC, Woodford Green & Essex Ladies AC and Yeovil Olympiads.

In 50 years of history, Birchfield Harriers are the most successful British Athletics League Club based upon League positions since 1969. The club joined in 1969 and have been in the topflight division for 45 years. They have won 10 league titles

Video Footage

Video of the BAL Division One Fixture held in Edinburgh in 1988, part 2 can be found here and part 3 here.

Archive contents


League Records

Premiership Records

Division One Records

Division Two Records

Division Three Records

Division Four Records