UKWAL Archive

The UK Women’s Athletics League was formed in 1975 and was known initially as the UK Women’s Singer League. The idea of forming a National League for women’s athletics was set in motion by the establishment of the British Athletics League for men in 1969 and the Motorway League for women which was established in 1973.

The UKWAL included events for Under 17 and Under 15 girls. However, with the creation of a Young Athletes League for girls, in 1994, these events were removed from the programme.

By 2019, the UKWAL was comprised of 4 divisions of 8 teams, with 32 teams across the UK in total. Each division held 3 matches per season with clubs entering two athletes per event. At the end of the season, two teams were promoted and relegated between each division and a Qualifying Match was held for leading Area League teams.

The first League fixtures

The original member clubs which participated in the League were Aldershot Farnham & District, Birchfield Harriers, Borough of Enfield AC, Bristol AC, Bury and Ratcliffe AC, Cambridge Harriers, Cardiff AAC, Croydon AC Derby Ladies, Edinburgh Southern Harriers, Essex Ladies AC, Exeter Harriers, Feltham AC, Havering AC, Hillingdon AC, Hull Spartans AC, Leicester Coritanians AC, London Olympiads AC, Maryhill Ladies AC, Mitcham AC, Notts AC, Sale Harriers, Stretford AC, and City of Stoke AC.

2019 Member Clubs

Bedford & County AC, Belgrave Harriers AC, Blackheath Harriers & Bromley AC, Birchfield Harriers, Bristol & West AC, Cardiff AAC, City of Sheffield and Dearne AC, Crawley Ac, Edinburgh AC, Enfield & Haringey AC, Harrow AC, Havering AC, Herne Hill Harriers, Herts Phoenix AC, Liverpool Harriers, Marshall Milton Keynes AC, Notts AC, Nene Valley Harriers, Newham & Essex Beagles, Peterborough AC, Reading AC, Rugby & Northampton AC, Sale Harriers, Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers, Southampton AC, Swansea Harriers, Thames Valley Harriers, Trafford AC, Victoria Park & City of Glasgow City AC, Wigan and District Harriers, Windsor, Slough Eton & Hounslow AC and Woodford Green & Essex Ladies AC.

Rosemary Stirling competing for Wolverhampton and Bilston AC. Photo: Wolverhampton and Bilston AC

Sale Harriers are the most successful UK Women’s Athletics League Club based on League positions. Founding members of the UKWAL in 1975, they remained in the Premiership Division for 38 years. The club won no less than 23 titles, were runners-up on nine occasions, finished third on three occasions, and came fourth twice.

Archive contents


League Records

Premiership Records

Division One Records

Division Two Records

Division Three Records