Male Athlete Awards

The National Athletics League presents an Athlete of the Year Award to the athlete who achieves the best track and field performance at National League fixtures.

Athletes must be from NAL member clubs and have been declared as scoring athletes within the event. Award recipients are those who achieve the highest number of points for a single NAL event based upon Professor Mick Bromilow’s Event Scoring Table. Recipients were not eligible for NAL Divisional Athlete Awards.

2021 awards were presented at the annual England Athletics Hall of Fame and Volunteer Awards Evening which was held on Saturday 23rd October to 400m Hurdler Chris McAlister for his 49.70 track performance and Shot Putter Scott Lincoln’s field event performance of 20 metres and 2 centimetres.   


Male Athlete Award Rankings


Ranking Name Event Club Performance Points
1 Scott Lincoln Shot SBH 20.02m 1146
2 Chris McAlister 400m Hurdles TVH 49.70 1042
3 Mark Pearce 3000m S/Chase SBH 8.49.70 1020
4 Jeremiah Azu 100m Cardiff 10.30 1019
5 Youcef Zatat Shot WG&EL 17.57m 1013
6 Pat Swan Shot Swansea 17.43m 1012
7 Adam Kirk-Smith 3000mS/Chase WG&EL 8.51.10 1010
8 Jacob Paul 400m Hurdles WSE&H 50.66 1005