Yeovil Olympiads crowned National 1 champions

Yeovil Olympiads secured the overall National 1 title with a narrow fourth-round match win over hosts Yate & District on Saturday.

Although Belgrave Harriers were third, they did enough to ensure promotion to the Championship division for next year along with Yeovil. Third-placed Portsmouth could join them if they win a “paper match” with Enfield & Haringey, who were third from bottom in the Championship this year.

Dale Willis (400m), Daniel Maydew (800m), Lewis Guest (110m hurdles and 400m hurdles), Matthew Lusby (steeplechase), Lottie Garratt (high jump and triple jump), Ben Gibb (discus) and Ben Jones (javelin) all took A-string wins for the champions.

Particularly imrepssive in the field was Marshall Milton Keynes’ Kayleigh Presswell, who won her main event, the hammer, with 62.48m. She also won the discus and shot.

Also of note in the hammer was MMK’s James Ericsson-Nicholls, who won with 54.81m.

Sam Ige took a sprint double for Belgrave (10.68/21.55).

Final match result

1st Yeovil Olympiads        538 points

2nd Yate & District AC      536 points

3rd Belgrave Harriers       521 points

4th City of Portsmouth    482 points

5th Milton Keynes             345 points


Watch the live stream from today (and from tomorrow’s Championship final) by purchasing Vinco plus.