Trafford AC

Founded: 1964

Identity Code: TRA

HQ: Longford Park Stadium, Manchester, M21 9TA

Stretford AC was formed by a group of athletics enthusiasts led by Bill Murphy and Jim Harris following the opening of Longford Park Stadium. Stretford in 1964. In 1966, the club amalgamated with Cheadle & Gately AC, becoming Trafford Athletic Club in 1992.

Trafford joined the BAL in 1974 and had three spells between 1974 and 1983, 1989 and 1991, and from 1998 onwards. The club was a founder member of the UKWAL in 1975.

The record for the fastest mile ever run is held by Craig Wheeler of Trafford AC who ran a time of 3:24.00 in 1993.

Honours: UKWAL champions in 1979, 1981 and 1985

Colours: White with blue and gold sash